Free Labor

My parents came to stay with me for a week. My mom wanted to make sure I was getting all the wedding stuff done, and my dad wanted to help with the new house….
I put both to work!

Thanks to my dad I got all of the old, beige outlets and switches changed to fresh white ones.

20130308-204913.jpg
It’s amazing what a difference it makes in all the rooms, not having holes in all the walls. It definitely makes the room look ‘finished’. (I used quotes there because between needing to finish painting the baseboards and needing furniture there’s at least something that still needs to be done in pretty much every room!)

So besides spending several days changing out every singe outlet and switch throughout the house, and figuring which breaker works which what, he also was the driving force in getting all my closets turned back into closets!

Doing the guest and front closets was nice… But my master closet is pretty much life altering. It made a huge difference being able to unpack all my boxes of clothes. I haven’t actually hung up my clothes since I moved from Ohio bringing of August.

20130308-205624.jpg

20130308-205633.jpg

20130308-205749.jpg

20130308-205859.jpg

20130308-205922.jpg
Guest closet is still missing doors, but otherwise ready for guests!

20130308-205936.jpg

He also was the driving force in finishing my guest bathroom:
Fixing the leaking sink
Changing the super ugly light fixture
Replacing the fan vent
Painting the bathroom walls and ceiling

20130308-210425.jpg
And a bunch of other projects like spackeling, putting a light in the office, replacing burned out bulbs, and taking pictures of me while I was shoveling the driveway.

Mainly my mom and I left him to his tasks while we were off at wedding shows and talking to/booking vendors.
But they did also get tours of my wedding venues and a full guided tour of Jon’s work.

My mom got to spend lots of time talking weddings with me! We went to my first dress fitting, picked my wedding shoes (I ordered 9 pairs to pick from…), booked a dj, met with a florist, and looked at the hotels.

Basically my week of free labor (plus an extra day thanks to not being able to get out of my driveway…) crossed tons off my to-do list. Which is good because starting Monday I have a temporary job so other house projects might take me a while to finish!

This entry was posted in Home Improvement, House, Jon, Snow, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free Labor

  1. California says:

    I bet it took you HOURS to hang all those clothes in that beautiful closet.

  2. salpal1 says:

    If your parents would like to come visit me for a week, I would be thrilled to have them!

  3. Ohio Movers says:

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted
    to mention that I have really enjoyed browsing your
    blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. Cindy says:

    How come you have video ads now? Are you getting paid? And was your mom happy cuz you got all your wedding stuff done? Heeheehee!

Leave a Reply

