Almost Move-In

We can almost move in to our new house. Almost.

It’s the little word that’s so close and still so far away. I feel like I’ve said almost a lot these last few weeks.

I’m almost done painting. The upstairs is almost done. The downstairs is almost done. Almost almost almost.

But really, even when we move in the house won’t be done. We want to redo the bathrooms, the kitchen, the yard. Eventually the basement.

Almost.

But for now, we can almost move in. The floors are all done (!) and I LOVE them. Almost all of the new wider baseboards are in.

They’re starting the stairs Monday, so a few days after that… Well I’m moving in. I don’t care what else we have to do, I’m just moving in.

It’s time. I’m ready. I’m moving in.

Jon and I bought a new bed Tuesday. We went looking and caught the end of a sale, fell in love with a fancy mattress and decided to just go for it. I’m not sure how much of Jon’s interest in getting it then was avoiding having to go shopping again. But we’re really happy with it and can’t wait to get to sleep on it. AND this means we have an adult bed for the guest room, which makes me happy.

20130127-121107.jpg

But so Friday I finally finished painting the kitchen. I don’t even have words for how glad I am to be rid of that weird green. I also patched the nail holes in a bunch of the trim so I could get it painted.

Saturday I spent the day lamenting what a pain painting trim is. I painted the trim upstairs, but since we hadn’t put the carpet in yet it was significantly easier. My paranoia about messing up the brand new bamboo floors slowed the process as well. So all in all I got much less painted than I wanted to. And today I ought to go over and get more done….. But I’m just really not in the mood.

So today I’m taking the day off. Tomorrow will be soon enough to get back to painting. It’s almost done.

And really what’s one more almost?

 

20130127-121146.jpg

20130127-121206.jpg

20130127-121215.jpg

This entry was posted in Home Improvement, House, Jon, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

