Setting Goals

I have to set goals for myself while I’m working alone in the house all day…. Otherwise I start going slower, taking breaks (to write blog posts occasionally), and generally not getting as much done as I wanted to that day.

As I’m my own boss currently this is mainly only a problem because I can be hard on myself, and because there is a (self-imposed) sense of “I have to get all this done so Jon and anyone else can have concrete evidence that I was working hard today too.” It only seems fair that I work super hard on the house because Jon has to be at work all day and then come help me here.

Occasionally my goals are unrealistic. Usually involving edge/trim work because it involves my little brush and going slowly by hand and therefore takes much longer than I feel it should. But occasionally it makes me get more done than I anticipated.

This morning, for example. I’m on to painting all the downstairs ceilings – which I hate and therefor and more likely to slow down and/or procrastinate (case in point) – so I told myself I wasn’t allowed to stop until the entire office ceiling was done with the second coat so I could call the office finished. I thought it’d take me awhile so I reasoned that when I was done, it’d be about 1 and also time for a lunch break.

Well by about noon I really had to go to the bathroom – we no toilets – which was enough motivation to paint faster and I finished by 1230! That I wasn’t super hungry for lunch yet was entirely irrelevant.

Luckily Jon stopped at the store on his way to the house tonight and got a new wax ring kit so we could reinstall one of the toilets until we get new ones. So now I’m covered for the rest of the week!

This entry was posted in Home Improvement, House, Jon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Setting Goals

  1. Cindy says:

    Wow! Jon got you a diamond ring AND a wax ring! Lucky Girl!

Leave a Reply

