Wedding Planning: Venue Search

A wedding is interesting right? I mean, I know it is to me, but I’m biased since I’m talking about my own.

I figure I’ve missed out on talking about plenty of interesting events because somehow doing not very much has taken up a lot of my life. But if I’m going to get back into this, then what better motivation than an audience that can’t get away from me while I go on and on about wedding stuff?

Sure you could stop reading, but I can’t tell if you do or not so as far as I’m concerned you must still be reading!

So I’d decided long before Jon proposed that I wanted a May wedding, mainly based on the fact that I didn’t want to get married while it was cold, and according to some chart I found online all of my favorite flowers are in season in May. So it made sense to pick the month they wouldn’t cost extra.

Well that isn’t quite happening. May is the busiest month for the future in-laws family business, so I was willing to concede to a June wedding.

We’ve now looked at wedding venues twice in NH. The first visit we found a place we loved that only had the 4th of July weekend open. The second time we found a reception space we really really liked that had plenty of dates open. And by that point the other venue on our list was totally full though the summer – it is a popular vacation spot as well as a beautiful place for weddings.

So now we’re on the hunt for a ceremony spot in the area around the reception venue. I’m also looking at a few places in CT online, but living in Ohio makes it a little difficult to check them out in person. And they’re filing up for June as well. But then June is the most popular wedding month.

Also, fun fact we’ve learned already. The places you love online – usually not as great in person. The places you weren’t as sure about – usually AMAZING in person. The reception venue for one – Jon didn’t even want to stop there. We would have missed out except I said I at least wanted to look because I thought it had potential. He ended up loving it, and it was even better than I expected.

Of course we’ve also met a few ridiculously rude people, which surprised me only because we’re talking weddings. If it was just a meeting or something it still wouldn’t be okay, but it wouldn’t surprise me as much. But really, I’m a potential paying customer looking for a spot for what should be one of the happiest days of my life… Not okay.

So now I’m checking into 2 or 3 CT places as well, but I think I’m mainly working on a ceremony site near the NH seacoast. It’s near the ocean, you wouldn’t think it’d be as hard as it’s proving to be just to find a grassy area overlooking the water to have a ceremony.

This entry was posted in Wedding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wedding Planning: Venue Search

  1. Cindy says:

    wow I bet you found a spot. I’m thinking it is a lovely place so you felt you had to move closer……..away from Ohio………to New Hampster. What do you think?

  2. Cindy says:

    How is that interesting wedding going?

Leave a Reply

