Summer Vacation

It’s been a while. But I have a good reason, I’ve been on vacation!

 Last week was busy with me trying to do all my laundry, clean the apartment before I left, and get a bunch of last-minute projects take care of at work. All last-minute, and super urgent of course. I’m not sure why so many people in my office can’t plan more than a few days ahead. If you need something by Thursday morning, giving me the project Monday afternoon isn’t enough time. But that is a whole separate conversation… 

The point is that I was busy Monday and Tuesday, and then I left at the crack of dawn Wednesday morning. My flight left at 8. Which meant I had to be there by 6, so we left the house at 5:30AM. I’m not sure why I even bothered going to sleep (which I had only done at midnight anyway). But the plane left early, which got me to Arizona early. I did have a layover in Nashville – it’s the only place I have ever seen a longer line at Burger King than at Starbucks…. AT 7:30 AM. Soooo wrong.

Then on my flight to Phoenix I sat next to a lady who, once we were up in the air, “This might be a silly question, but we ARE going to Arizona right?” Might? But I guess she heard the pilot say that we were 150 miles from the airport and thought he meant we only had 150 miles left to go.

Then later in the flight, she requested both orange juice and coffee for her drinks. And asked the stewardess for 2 sugars and 2 creams. She gave her the cream first but had to go get the sugar. The lady managed to pour one into her coffee, but poured the other into her empty oj cup! She just looked at me and said “I can’t believe I just did that!” So I’m still laughing at her when the stewardess comes back with the sugar. One goes into the coffee and the other goes into the oj cup!

I’m really laughing at her at this point and she just shakes her head at herself and says “I guess I didn’t need two creams or two sugars.”

 But otherwise the rest of my trip there was pretty uneventful and I got there with enough time to lay back and relax for a few days. I needed both the time away from work, and the time with my family. I think this is the longest I’ve gone without seeing them so the visit was overdue. And to add to my excitement, one of my best friends is living in California for the summer and so she came out for the weekend as well!

To top off an awesome vacation, we all went to the resort’s spa for massages Sunday morning. The perfect way to end the trip. And because my luck just runs this way – my masseuse just happened to be from Ohio. But not just Ohio. . . . Cleveland.

After the massage it was time to check out and head to the airport. Very full flights, but otherwise uneventful. I got home late (it sucks losing the 3 hours flying east) and went straight to bed since I had to pop my peaceful vacation bubble by going back to work in the morning.

And for not doing much worth writing about, I’ve been really busy this week too. Hence the lack of posting until tonight. Monday night I went to an Indians game with my friend who had an extra ticket. Tuesday I had to go grocery shopping because we didn’t have much food left, and the way I took home goes right by Borders. So I had to stop (I may or may not be addicted to books).

Then Wednesday, Jon met me at work so we could go to dinner. Our date was really nice. We ate then walked around outside because it was beautiful out. And tonight I’m writing this post, but my suitcase is still unpacked on the floor. I did finally get my college diploma into its frame though!

This entry was posted in Fun, Holidays, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

