Costco…

makes me happy and poor all at once.

Jon and I decided to go there this morning. We needed some groceries, I needed gas, and I just love Costco anyway. So after stopping to get some breakfast we got there about noon. I thought it was going to be crazy based on how the Costco I grew up going to always was on the weekend. But it really wasn’t that bad.

We did our shopping without any real problems (except that apparently in Ohio you can’t buy alcohol on Sunday. Which is just annoying but whatever). We are now more than stocked up on dishwasher soap, fabric softener, orange juice for Jon, and other foods. Oh and quinoa! Jess had told me about it while I was in CT visiting her, and since then I’ve heard it talked about on the radio and someone was cooking with it on the Food Network like a week ago. So now we have a giant bag of it. Hopefully we like it, but it seemed silly to get it at Giant Eagle when a teeny tiny bag was the same price as like a 5 lb bag at Costco. I’ll have to find some recipes now though. I’ll let you know if I find any especially good ones.

Jon also got like a protein powder and razors which were the two most expensive things we bought. I know that whenever I buy razors they aren’t cheap, but men’s razors are even more expensive! I couldn’t believe that it was like $45 for the pack that had maybe 14 or 16 in it!

I’m trying to not eat quite as much crap anymore, so I bought a bunch of veggies there as well. The women I work with are great for that. They’re all into making super healthy foods and exercising a ton. I’m definitely the least healthy, at least at lunch, since I almost always have a Dr Pepper with lunch and I’ve yet to see any of them drink a soda.

But anyway, I was expecting to have a pretty substantial bill when we checked out but even I was caught off guard at just how much we spent! But like I justified to Jon – most of the things we bought are going to last us a seriously long time so even if we went back in like 2 or 3 weeks I don’t think we’d be spending that much again for a while.

(Sidenote: Dad – at least the one by me had the Panama Jack shirts you like. I didn’t really check them out so I don’t know if these are the good quality ones or not, but they had several new patterns if you want to check it out.)

The other errand we ran was to find bags for the vacuum Jon’s parents gave us. We’ve been using it since we got here and it was more than time for a new one. We popped the canister open to find the bag number…. and discovered that there hadn’t been a bag on it. Whoops.

It was a mess! Dust and fuzz from the new carpet and who only knows what was just loose in there, clogging up the hose. So gross. Thankfully I have a boyfriend who loves me and dealt with it.

It was great getting out early to run the errands. By the time we got home with everything it was only just 2pm, so it felt like we had accomplished so much and still had the whole afternoon left.

There are still a lot of things we need to get for the apartment though, so soon I’ll get back to that soon hopefully.

This entry was posted in Apartment, Food, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

