First Day of Work

So I started my job today!

It was a good day. I think I’m really going to love the job. I already enjoy it and I’m still trying to figure all the aspects of the job out.  

I didn’t have to be in until 9, so that gave me plenty of time to get ready and I knew I was going to have to clean a little snow off of my car. Getting the snow off wasn’t a problem, but the huge pile of snow/ice behind my car was a huge problem. It took me ages to get over it. I’m not going to go into it – because it pissed me off this morning and I don’t want to ruin my evening thinking about it.

But work was intense, but good. I had a lot of people giving me a lot of information. The complicated part about my position is that it’s involved in so many projects and departments – and several different people took over a few of the tasks I’ll be doing, so there is a lot to learn and no one person knows it all.

Like assigning project numbers to the tasks. No one knows what system the previous person used to assign numbers. Everyone thinks someone else should know, but no one does. And some numbers are used for multiple projects, or are re-used down the line. So it looks like I’ll be creating my own system for that.

Everyone in the office is very friendly and helpful though. I’m really enjoying the atmosphere in the office. It’s very cheerful, busy, and fast paced which keeps the energy up.

There is also a pet cat that lives in the warehouse. They rescued her and now keep beds and food in there. She’s a pretty loving cat.

The job hours are a little different. I’ll be working 9-6. Some people come in even later than that though, the first half hour or so this morning was pretty quiet. I also got the impression that the hours can be pretty flexible, which will be nice in the future. It’s also less than a 20 minute commute for me.

It was a long day, and getting home and pretty much going straight to the gym left me seriously tired. But I’m already excited for tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Job and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day of Work

  1. Jess says:

    sounds so good! i was hoping i’d be able to get a glimpse of your day, i’m so happy you posted about it! hopefully tomorrow goes just as well!

  2. Congratulations on your new job! Your post entered my life by chance today. I am job searching right now and am originally from Ohio so there are two things that connected us just by this chance encounter.

    I hope the new job turns from temp to permanent for you.

    http://ouchfired.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

