Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

One of the blogs I read is Joy the Baker. She’s really funny AND she always has really yummy looking recipes. I saw her apple oatmeal cookies in December and have wanted to make them since. 

Since I start work on Thursday (!) I decided now was the perfect time to get on it. And it’s snowy and cold out so warm oatmeal cookies sound perfect right about now.

Recipe from her site, I just tweaked it a little bit.

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter , softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/4 cup oats, old fashioned or quick cooking

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 medium apple, peeled and diced

Blend the sugar and butter together until creamy. I don’t have a stand mixer so I did all of this by hand, not really fun but it is a great arm workout. Next, beat in the egg.  Add the vanilla extract and beat until blended.

Mix the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt.  Add to the butter and egg mixture slowly until just incorporated.  Stir in the diced apple chunks last. The original recipe also used walnuts but I didn’t have any and wasn’t going to run out in this weather to get any. Jon hates walnuts anyway, not that it would have stopped me from putting some in my half of the cookies if I had any…

Also, the batter seemed a little drier than I expected it to be. Hopefully that’s normal. Just wanted to warn you because I checked the ingredient list 3 times to make sure I hadn’t forgotten to add something. Also, I don’t know if I should have cut the apple into smaller pieces, or if my ‘medium’ apple is larger than it should be or what, but I would def say that I had too much apple. It almost seemed like I had more apple than dough. I was stuffing extra apple pieces into my balls of dough and still had some left over.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 to 15 minutes or until they’ve reached your desired level of done-ness. I cooked them at 12 minutes for the first batch, and they looked good. Mine didn’t flatten out though  and the one I ate right out of the oven was still a tiny bit gooey in the middle. Which I love. But if you’re one of those want-their-cookies-fully-cooked people and your cookies aren’t flattening out either you might want to cook them for a few more minutes.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Babygirl says:

    I haven’t had Oatmeal cookies in so long and I’ve never tried the apple cinnamon kind either. So I must try to make this. Wonderful recipe and post.

Leave a Reply

