Aching Muscles

So I mentioned the other day that Jon and I joined a gym. We went on Monday, the first time for me but Jon had been there in December while signing us up. So after Jon showed me around a bit, I convinced him to take the class that was about to start with me. It’s supposed to be sort of a mix of yoga, Pilates, and tai chi. And since Jon is pretty much the least flexible person I know…. well the class would be good for him. The instructor had some issues with her computer and music however, so it ended up simply being a yoga class.

I think Jon enjoyed it more than he expected. And there was some residual sore muscles for both of us the next day from all the stretching. But that didn’t stop us from going back Tuesday for our free consultation thing with the personal trainers. I wasn’t really interested and would have rather gone to a class, but since I dragged Jon to yoga I figured seeing the trainer once wouldn’t kill me.

I’m not sure the trainer believed me when I said I really only joined the gym for the classes. He kept trying to get me to set some sort of goal or to admit I’m unhappy with some part of my body… but since I’m perfectly content with my body – and I’m much to lazy to attempt to fix something I’m fine with – the trainer eventually gave up on me and focused on Jon. Jon of course has goals and an interest and has actually belonged to a gym before.

Eventually the trainer took us into the gym area and invented a 20-minute upper body workout that he made us do. I say made. Jon enjoyed it I think, but really having someone standing over me telling me I can do 5 more push-ups really just makes my stubborn side come out and I want to sit down and tell them ‘No really I cant’. But my mature side won out and I sucked it up since I knew I wouldn’t be doing it again.

Jon’s considering working with a trainer. They come up with all sorts of personalized workouts and switch it up often so that you don’t hit a plateau and blah blah blah. I’m not sure if Jon will sign up but as long as he doesn’t try to talk me into doing it too then I’m cool with whatever he decides.

We had intended to go Wednesday too, because pretty much every weeknight there is a class I’m interested in at 7pm. But since I couldn’t even pick up the carton of orange juice without my arms feeling like they were going to give out, I wanted the day off. Jon agreed since his elbow was hurting. Neither of us is quite sure why his elbow hurts but I still hurt today so I’m really sure I wouldn’t have been able to do much of anything last night.

Tonight I’m going to a Zumba class though. I’ve wanted to try one for a while since it seems like something right up my alley. I’m also hoping that it’s mostly leg/dancing/aerobics and so wont utilize my still painfully sore arms.

This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aching Muscles

  1. Cindy says:

    You are my hero! If you can do it, so can I! At least, I can once I get to the new house where they have classes.
    We’ll see if the feeling is still there once I get to the clubhouse.

Leave a Reply

